Why do Indians call our country India instead of Bharat when speaking.

ITBP

Even indian languages?

For example if you see in present Hindi TV, you will see our country is referred India all time instead of Bharat. Such as in Life Ok's Saabdhan India, why india? In hindi this country is Bharat. Not India.

Japanese when speaking Japanese call their country Nippon, but why do Indians refer this country India even when speaking Indian languages? None of the Indian languages refer this country as India.

I think we Indians when speaking Indian language, must refer our country Bharat, instead of India.

I hope you all get what I am trying to say.

So I request all Indians, when speaking Indian languages, call our country Bharat, not India.

Ajesh

Re: Why do Indians call our country India instead of Bharat when speak

Brainwashing , English Medium Education, Leftist-Congressi Elements in Education and this is what we will have.

balai_c

Actually, when conversing in Indian languages (like bangla in my case), the word "India" is almost never uttered. I personally have never heard it. This tragically is an affliction observed mostly in Hindi speaking India (atleast the anglicized city folks). It is also a phenomenon of the anglophile urban elite, with sub-par command in their state language.

Free Karma

Yup this is something I've wondered, I prefer Bharath to India tbh

Have you DMK leader that is Bharat alright to replace India in the vocabulary.

If it is OK with him then there should be a quick change.

All those Western reporters especially British should be ejected from Bharat, if they refuse to listen.

anupamsurey

:confused: its quite simple isn't it, because India has two names (officially), have you noticed when we write a sentence say- India is our country..note the use of India, and if you writ same word in Hindi or any other regional language it becomes bharat hamara desh hai....this is almost involuntary....so the idea is we never use the term India in Hindi or other local languages.

EXPERT

You are somewhat right but we have three different names and it's upto the people whom they choose. Now younger generation is more habitual to India so that's also cool but the main thing is we should respect our nation in any means or name.

ITBP

More ever have you guys seen the number of English words we use in indian languages? It is polluting Indian languages.

For example- Congratulation this word has already replaced Bengali word :Abhinandan".

More ever our Indian languages have separate name for other countries's people- Such as French in Bengali called :farasi", Dutch "Olondaz", Danish "Dinemar", Russians "Russ" or "Russi Desio", mean while other European languages have separate name for many countries.

Clear sign that Indian languages are declining.

And this tendency is more visible among Hindi speakers, they always wish to impose their language, but slave mentality is most among themselves.

abhi_the _gr8_maratha

Pointless thread as article 1 of our constitution says INDIA THAT IS BHARAT. SO I WILL BELIEVE CONSTITUTION MORE THAN WHAT A NOOB LIKE YOU SAY @ITBP

ITBP

Pointless thread as article 1 of our constitution says INDIA THAT IS BHARAT. SO I WILL BELIEVE CONSTITUTION MORE THAN WHAT A NOOB LIKE YOU SAY @ITBP
You clearly missed the point or could not understand.

Take it simply, when our languages refer our country Bharat, then why use the name India of foreign origin?

You know what it indirectly means? India was created by foreigners and they name this country(we have not a word to refer our country), just ignoring it polluting our languages.

You are a Marathi, if you call Shibaji Great Emperor Shibaji instead of calling Shibaji Maharaj when speaking Marathi, you see the difference?

My point is when we have our own name for our country, then why should use a foreign word? For example English word Blog- It has no Indian word of similar meaning, so we should use Blog when speaking Indian languages, but when we have our country's INDIGENOUS name then why refer our country in a foreign word?

abhi_the _gr8_maratha

the world india is formed from hindu. Arabs used to pronounce sindhu as hindu. And greek used to pronounce it like indu hence india. So india is formed from the word hindu- our religion.
and for your kind info. Word of one language can be used in other directly like cricket, football, hockey etc. So don't troll @ITBP as india also can be used in indian language

AVERAGE INDIAN

EXORCIST

Even indian languages?

For example if you see in present Hindi TV, you will see our country is referred India all time instead of Bharat. Such as in Life Ok's Saabdhan India, why india? In hindi this country is Bharat. Not India.

Japanese when speaking Japanese call their country Nippon, but why do Indians refer this country India even when speaking Indian languages? None of the Indian languages refer this country as India.

I think we Indians when speaking Indian language, must refer our country Bharat, instead of India.

I hope you all get what I am trying to say.

So I request all Indians, when speaking Indian languages, call our country Bharat, not India.
which indian language specifically we have 14 constitutional languages useless thread anyway ill clear it for you

According to the Manusmá¹›ti (2.21–22) North India (i.e., India north of the Vindhyas) is also known as Ä€ryāvarta (Sanskrit: आर्यावर्त, "abode of the Aryans)

if interested get this book

Sanskrit & Prakrit, Sociolinguistic Issues - Madhav Deshpande - Βιβλία Google

Sanskrit indu "drop (of Soma)", also a term for the Moon, is unrelated, but has sometimes been erroneously connected, listed by, among others, Colonel James Todd in his Annals of Rajputana. Todd describes ancient India as under control of tribes claiming descent from the Moon, or "Indu" (referring to Chandravanshi Rajputs).

According to the Puranas(Gita), this country is known as Bharatavarsha after the king Bharata Chakravarti. This has been mentioned in Vishnu Purana (2,1,31), Vayu Purana,(33,52), Linga Purana(1,47,23), Brahmanda Purana (14,5,62), Agni Purana ( 107,11–12), Skanda Purana, Khanda (37,57) and Markandaya Purana (50,41) it is clearly stated that this country is known as Bharata Varsha. Vishnu Purāna mentions:

ऋषभो मरुदेव्याश्च ऋषभात भरतो भवेत्
भरताद भारतं वर्षं, भरतात सुमतिस्त्वभूत्
Rishabha was born to Marudevi, Bharata was born to Rishabh,
Bharatavarsha (India) arose from Bharata, and Sumati arose from Bharata
—Vishnu Purana (2,1,31)
ततश्च भारतं वर्षमेतल्लोकेषुगीयते
भरताय यत: पित्रा दत्तं प्रतिष्ठिता वनम (विष्णु पुराण, २,१,३२)
This country is known as Bharatavarsha since the times the father entrusted the kingdom to the son Bharata and he himself went to the forest for ascetic practices [ Rishabha/ Rishabdev is First Trithankar (Teacher) of Jainism. He had two sons Bharat and Bahubali' ]
—Vishnu Purana (2,1,32)

The term in Classical Sanskrit literature is taken to comprise the present day territories of Afghanistan, Pakistan, Republic of India, Nepal and Bangladesh. This corresponds to the approximate extent of the historical Maurya Empire under emperors Chandragupta Maurya and Ashoka the Great (4th to 3rd centuries BC). Later political entities unifying approximately the same region are the Mughal Empire (17th century), the Maratha Empire (18th century), and the British Raj (19th to 20th centuries).

if you can read Sanskrit this is form geeta for more info

http://is1.mum.edu/vedicreserve/puranas/vishnu_purana.pdf

so the point is there are lot of names so India is fine or what ever name you want you can choose from history books

other ancient Indian names according to indian history

bharatha khanda, jambhu dweepa, dandakaranya

When I used to watch Malayalam news, almost always it was referred to as "Bharatham".

Ajesh

More ever have you guys seen the number of English words we use in indian languages? It is polluting Indian languages.

For example- Congratulation this word has already replaced Bengali word :Abhinandan".

More ever our Indian languages have separate name for other countries's people- Such as French in Bengali called :farasi", Dutch "Olondaz", Danish "Dinemar", Russians "Russ" or "Russi Desio", mean while other European languages have separate name for many countries.

Clear sign that Indian languages are declining.

And this tendency is more visible among Hindi speakers, they always wish to impose their language, but slave mentality is most among themselves.
Abhinandan is a word i have heard in Local Malayalam speakers as well...

The Constitution says India that is Bharat.

According to the scriptural description of the brahmand the entire earth planet is called Bharatvarsh, but particularly the area of the continent that lies south of the Himalayas is called Bharatvarsh. It is also called Aryavart. The inhabitants of Aryavart are called the Aryans as referred to in the Rigved. Thus, the words Bhartiya or Aryans were both used for the inhabitants of Bharatvarsh or Aryavart, however, the words Bhartiya and Bharatvarsh were more popular.

Persians used to call 'Hindu' for the Sindhu river, which was a localized version of the word Sindhu. When Muslims invaded Bharatvarsh from the west (which was the land of the Sindhu river) they started calling the inhabitants of Bharatvarsh 'the Hindus.' Accordingly, the country of the Hindus was called Hindustan by them which means:

the place ( sthan)
of the Hindus ( Hindu)
For speaking convenience the colloquial form of the word 'sthan' became 'stan' and in this way the word Hindustan (Hindu + stan) came into being. The Greeks used to call 'Indu' for 'Hindu,' because there is no letter 'h' in the Greek alphabet.

When English people came, for their convenience, they altered the names of quite a few places and also some of the rivers. They called 'Indus' for the Sindhu river and, accordingly, 'India' for Hindustan or Bharatvarsh. Thus, the words Hindu and India became popular.
Bhartiya History - Definition of Bharatvarsh
Should it be Bharat or Bharatvarsha.

In Bengali, it is Bharatvarsha.

The Constitution says India that is Bharat.

According to the scriptural description of the brahmand the entire earth planet is called Bharatvarsh, but particularly the area of the continent that lies south of the Himalayas is called Bharatvarsh. It is also called Aryavart. The inhabitants of Aryavart are called the Aryans as referred to in the Rigved. Thus, the words Bhartiya or Aryans were both used for the inhabitants of Bharatvarsh or Aryavart, however, the words Bhartiya and Bharatvarsh were more popular.

Persians used to call 'Hindu' for the Sindhu river, which was a localized version of the word Sindhu. When Muslims invaded Bharatvarsh from the west (which was the land of the Sindhu river) they started calling the inhabitants of Bharatvarsh 'the Hindus.' Accordingly, the country of the Hindus was called Hindustan by them which means:

the place ( sthan)
of the Hindus ( Hindu)
For speaking convenience the colloquial form of the word 'sthan' became 'stan' and in this way the word Hindustan (Hindu + stan) came into being. The Greeks used to call 'Indu' for 'Hindu,' because there is no letter 'h' in the Greek alphabet.

When English people came, for their convenience, they altered the names of quite a few places and also some of the rivers. They called 'Indus' for the Sindhu river and, accordingly, 'India' for Hindustan or Bharatvarsh. Thus, the words Hindu and India became popular.
Bhartiya History - Definition of Bharatvarsh
Should it be Bharat or Bharatvarsha.

In Bengali, it is Bharatvarsha.

Hear DL Roy's patriotic song - Jedin-sunil-jaladhi-hoite

Jedin Sunil Jaladhi Hoite Song from Tomari Deya Prane - Neela Majumdar : Listen & Download

ITBP

the world india is formed from hindu. Arabs used to pronounce sindhu as hindu. And greek used to pronounce it like indu hence india. So india is formed from the word hindu- our religion.
and for your kind info. Word of one language can be used in other directly like cricket, football, hockey etc. So don't troll @ITBP as india also can be used in indian language
Whether Hindu or not. India this word has foreign influence.

Bharat is pure Indian name. Take it simple if an Indian big sister calls her brother "bro" instead of "Bhai" is it ok?

Why use foreign words when we have words of our own language with similar meaning?

And for Cricket, Football etc, read my previous comment again, there I said many English words which's similar word in our Indian language we have not, we can certainly use them. Do you have Cricket this word's Indian similar word, as we have India=Bharat?

My point is when we have our own name for our country, then why should use a foreign word? For example English word Blog- It has no Indian word of similar meaning, so we should use Blog when speaking Indian languages, but when we have our country's INDIGENOUS name then why refer our country in a foreign word?
For example- Germans use the word Coca Cola, in German as they dont have it's similar word, but when speaking German they always refer their country Deutschland.

Yeah must use Hindi words

Train = lohpatgamini

Necktie = Cunt langot.

For example- Germans use the word Coca Cola, in German as they dont have it's similar word, but when speaking German they always refer their country Deutschland.
Are you aware how many English words are used in the German Language?

WALK through an international city and you will see quite a lot of English. Walk through an expat-dense neighbourhood in Berlin, like the one Johnson has recently moved to, and you'll see more than the average, such as "Fastfood", "Women's wear", "Coffee to go" on three storefronts spotted the other day. Using English in a city where many visitors and even residents don't speak German makes sense.

Besides English-as-English, though, German itself has also taken on quite a lot of English words. The on-line, user-written Wiktionary lists some 900 of them (surely under-counting). The definitions begin with abge----t ("in a sorry state") and end in der Zoom (the feature on camera lenses). The liberal salting of English words into German sentences is called "Denglisch" (Deutsch and Englisch), and it tends to annoy traditionalists.

There are several different kinds of Denglisch. One is the English word that has become fully standard in German: das Baby is the normal way to refer to a new human, edging out the older Säugling (charmingly cognate to the English "suckling"). Baby is now also a term of endearment in German, just as in English.

Further along the spectrum are words that Germans use but which have not entirely edged out their ur-German rivals. Take Das Basement, spotted in a Berlin shopping mall. The word is still less common than the native Untergeschoss. But Johnson was surprised, and even a little displeased, to spot it for the first time. Das Basement, really? What on earth is wrong with Untergeschoss? Is it because the shopping mall is quintessentially American?

If this were not bad enough, some of the borrowing seems incompetent. What Brits call a mobile and Americans call a cell phone, Germans call a Handy—a word that looks borrowed from English, but isn't. The baseball cap—a common faux-hip ornament in today's Germany—is a Basecap. And Germans call table football Kicker, a game unknown in the English-speaking world. (The mangling goes both ways, as Americans alter the German Fussball to foosball.) And when a rude word is borrowed, its taboo in the original language does not always travel with it. Angela Merkel is just one of many Germans who don't realise that you can't just casually uses the word Shitstorm in a press conference. The word has become common enough to be added to Germany's most prestigious dictionary, the Duden.

Bastian Sick, who writes a language column for the Spiegel magazine, pokes gentle fun at Denglish. Since the tide of Anglicisms can't be wished away, he at least wants to uphold standards in using them. Foreign words can be made into German verbs by suffixing –ieren (itself borrowed from the French verb ending –er). So interessieren and schockieren are nothing interesting or shocking. But Germans are normalising such verbs: in one column, Mr Sick noticed a fellow journalist using the past participles geschockt and gemarkt instead of shockiert and markiert. This means that the new forms have the traditional German "ge-" that is added to native verbs, and omit the foreign-marking –ieren. Mr Sick finds this faddish and unappealing, but to the outsider, it's a lovely example of language change happening before one's eyes.

Virtually every language borrows words (English quite promiscuously). These can be highborn terms of philosophy and art or the common Basecap, depending on the cultural contact any two languages are having at a given time. (It's no surprise to see so many terms from pop culture and technology coming from English.) One linguist, Guy Deutscher, has aptly compared language to a reef. It is constantly growing, borrowing, changing, living—but we only notice the new additions on top. Long ago changes, once "fads" or "errors", now form the solid foundation. So it is with German, and even "Denglish". Purists, take heart.
http://www.economist.com/blogs/prospero/2013/08/english-words-german
We must have our Indian equaivalent.

Now what would be the Hindi translation for Brigitte Eklund?

ITBP

Are you aware how many English words are used in the German Language?
You know English itself is a hybrid language with mixture of French and German?

Mind your language: German linguists oppose influx of English words | World news | The Guardian

Read this article and you realize Germans are trying to protect their language, do we have similar movements in India to protect Indian languages? No.

You know European Military's have their ranks in their own name? But Indian Military? No. For Example Ak-47's Ak meaning- Автомат Калашникова

For example more we Indians use Tank to refer Tank, but Germans use Panzer. You see the difference? And we Indians instead of producing equivalent of english we continue to use English words intact. We use Assault rifle- Germans use Sturmgewehr.

For your kind yes, you are right Languages need to be evolving- But how to properly evolve? 1) Absorbing foreign words completely or 2) producing their equivalent?

First 1 we are using and resulted in Hinglish, Tanglish, Banglish. We even use unncessary English words when we have it's equivalent.

Or Second 2? That French and Germans are doing?