India gets a new Kashmir headache as Kayani seeks NSA role

EXPERT

Recent intelligence reports about the future role of soon-to-retire Pakistan army chief General Ashfaq Parvez Kayani have not been music to the ears of South Block mandarins.

According to reports, Kayani is making a push to take charge of Kashmir and Afghanistan affairs as part of a re-jig of Pakistan's national security establishment.

Official sources told Mail Today that they are getting signs of an internal battle brewing between the political leadership led by Pakistan premier Nawaz Sharif and the military establishment backed Kayani, who wants to control the Kashmir button and, significantly, assume the charge of Afghanistan operations after his term ends on November 29.

The role being proposed for Kayani will be that of National Security Advisor. The Pakistan army is keen to convey to Sharif that while the political leadership will continue to run the country's policy, Kayani will bring in an element of continuity by advising the prime minister on the two key issues which are vital for Pakistan's national interests.

Time will reveal whether Sharif, who has tried to assert himself over the military leadership, will buckle down under pressure.

But if the Pakistan premier does, the move will have a significant bearing on the security of India. This means Kayani, a known hardliner against India, will continue to put the heat on the international border and the Line of Control (LoC) and the terror tap may also remain open even in the summer of 2014.

Chances of renewed peace dialogues would recede with the military running the affairs on Kashmir. Similarly Afghanistan, where Pakistan has sought to destablise the Hamid Karzai regime and hit out at the Indian interests, will continue to be on the boil.

With US troops set to exit Afghanistan, the country may again become a safe refuge for foreign mercenaries and terrorists trained for attacks in Kashmir and other parts of India.

Kayani's desire to assume the role of Afghan affairs in-charge will also help him exercise control over Pakistan's dealings with the US.

Washington is likely to cut a deal to minimise its losses in Afghanistan and will also need Islamabad's support in protecting its own interests in the war-ravaged country after the troop withdrawal. 61-year-old Kayani will complete his three-year extension next month.

Kayani became the first four-star officer to receive an extension from an elected Pakistan government after his tenure as the Army chief ended in 2010.

If Kayani makes it to the post with an enhanced role, New Delhi will have to calibrate its Kashmir and Afghanistan policies, considering that it will experience some turmoil in both areas critical for the country from a security stand-point

EXPERT

sorry the thread is already started by @hit&run , mod kindly delete this thread

Indo-pak war 2016 with complete destruction of Pakistan and creation of Akhand Bharat will become a reality soon if Namo bcoms our PM & Kayani bcoms Pak NSA. Most likely we might also have Gen VK Singh either as NSA or member of NSAC.

What change will there be from the present or from the past?

TrueSpirit

Indo-pak war 2016 with complete destruction of Pakistan and creation of Akhand Bharat will become a reality soon
Hope you do not seriously believe, that anything even remotely on these lines, is ever going to happen ?

By the way, do you really want "Akhand Bharat" when we are not even able to manage the Khand we already have ? Who wants Pakjabis, NWFP tribals & zealots in India ?

Further, it is practically impossible for India call Paki nuke bluff & since Sino-US nexus would never let Pak fail completely so all-out destruction of Pak remains a practical impossibility.

Kayani is dreaming of importing Talibs from Afgh and exporting to Kashmir and he want to be main controller of this operation. I am sure in coming days we will keep Pakistan busy.

Hope you do not seriously believe, that anything even remotely on these lines, is ever going to happen ?

By the way, do you really want "Akhand Bharat" when we are not even able to manage the Khand we already have ? Who wants Pakjabis, NWFP tribals & zealots in India ?

Further, it is practically impossible for India call Paki nuke bluff & since Sino-US nexus would never let Pak fail completely so all-out destruction of Pak remains a practical impossibility.
bro, you need to read my post again. I stated Akhand Bharat after complete destruction of Pakistan which means The land of Pakistan without its citizens.

EXPERT

bro, you need to read my post again. I stated Akhand Bharat after complete destruction of Pakistan which means The land of Pakistan without its citizens.
come on @Decklander these things aren't going to happen .........be practical ..

EXPERT

yes , we all know that .......]
but as a NSA he wants all his decision to be obeyed by his Prime minister . Though it is totaly on Mr. Sharif what he chooses .....

come on @Decklander these things aren't going to happen .........be practical ..
The next war with Pakistan will be a nuke war. You can draw any scenerio and it will lead you to a full blown nuke war with Pakistan. compared to 1999 kargil war when we had near parity in conventional weapons, now India has overwhelming superiority in conventional weapons. So it is quite possible that within very early days of war whole Pak army many capitulate forcing Pak to use nukes which will invite very heavy counter strike from India. This is already our stated position regarding nuke war.

EXPERT

Kayani is dreaming of importing Talibs from Afgh and exporting to Kashmir and he want to be main controller of this operation. I am sure in coming days we will keep Pakistan busy.
before all this we seriously have to take a big step forward in AFGANISTAN ,after NATO and US forces leaves so that the influence of PAKISTAN does not increases again....

EXPERT

The next war with Pakistan will be a nuke war. You can draw any scenerio and it will lead you to a full blown nuke war with Pakistan. compared to 1999 kargil war when we had near parity in conventional weapons, now India has overwhelming superiority in conventional weapons. So it is quite possible that within very early days of war whole Pak army many capitulate forcing Pak to use nukes which will invite very heavy counter strike from India. This is already our stated position regarding nuke war.
yes , i know Pakistan is kind of shameless and immature nation , it can do anything and wont hesitate before using Nukes .......
but we are quite good at diplomatic levels and should do whatever it takes to stop pakistan before using any conventional weapon ..

But why is this in any way a headache to us? Hasn't the Pak army always been in control of their foreign policy, so how is it going to be any different with Kayani as the NSA?

Having a complete leeway on matters related to foreign affairs will only remain a pipe dream for the political leadership of Pakistan, shouldn't this be a headache for them than us?

More military precision in terrorist strikes. Maybe even bonafide Fidayeen corps and Jihad corps. More direct involvement from Paki SF...

I stumbled upon the Tv Show Youth Parliament.

It was very interesting and did not have the rancour of the TV Debates.

Interestingly, there was a consensus that India has lost the plot.

And it was time to rein in all our neighbours from pursuing an anti Indian posturing, instead of adopting a supine and passive posture and be slam bam-ed.

DivineHeretic

I stumbled upon the Tv Show Youth Parliament.

It was very interesting and did not have the rancour of the TV Debates.

Interestingly, there was a consensus that India has lost the plot.

And it was time to rein in all our neighbours from pursuing an anti Indian posturing, instead of adopting a supine and passive posture and be slam bam-ed.
Someone in South bloc forgot that to preserve national interests, one must not hesitate to demonstrate force projection. It is naïve to assume that other states will consider your national interest unless they know that we have the stick to force them, should the need arise.

Gone are the days of Indira Gandhi (and Rajiv Gandhi) and to an extent Atal Behari Vajpayee. We made gunboat diplomacy with Sri Lanka and later we sent troops to Maldives. We planned intervention in Mauritius (1983 op Lal Dora) and then intervened in Schylles (Op Flowers are blooming).

The policies then might have been right or wrong, but one the thing that remains undisputed was that all the nations in the region knew and felt the presence of India. Whether they liked it or despised us, they made it certain that their decisions did not antagonize the Indian establishment. In effect, they had to keep our national interests in mind.

But now, a spineless govt. who is too scared to even impose its will on Maldives through covert means, has made these very countries bold enough to take us on in every issue. They have no reason to fear, for they know there is nothing New Delhi will do.

Indo-pak war 2016 with complete destruction of Pakistan and creation of Akhand Bharat will become a reality soon if Namo bcoms our PM & Kayani bcoms Pak NSA. Most likely we might also have Gen VK Singh either as NSA or member of NSAC.
If NaMo becomes PM he is not fool to go for all out war to destroy pak

I would be happy if he gets PoK without firing guns and then turns it into economic corridor

How is this possible when ex-NSA infomred our current PM that we donot have assest in pak.

And some of our ex-pm have shared assest with pak pm

Actually its not headache for babus in foregin office .

It headache for those jholawaals in media who wont be able to sold stories that pakistan has changed.