After M777 all eyes on Kalyani group ultra-light howitzers

Jagdish58

hitesh

M777 was a proven platform if bought it would have made fast deployment but kalyani-group-ultra-light-howitzers design is still on papers it will take much time to even bring the platform for field testing & we all knows how much time it takes to conduct a trial ,we still don't know what if that gun would be actually a re-branding case or the Indian company actually have its stakes in it .

abhi_the _gr8_maratha

M777 was a proven platform if bought it would have made fast deployment but kalyani-group-ultra-light-howitzers design is still on papers it will take much time to even bring the platform for field testing & we all knows how much time it takes to conduct a trial ,we still don't know what if that gun would be actually a re-branding case or the Indian company actually have its stakes in it .
its joint venture with american firm and army will deploy it fastly like dhanush....

We should go for M777 as a stop gap arrangement, when the Kalyani Group comes up with the full production lines for its own, we may go for more orders, Americans will deliver the M777 in quick time and that will cover for immediate shortages in IA.

As of now, A single M777 cost 30 crores a piece without talking the spare and ammunition also the tow vehicle ..

Dhanush on other hand cost just 14 crores a piece, The point is the cost escalation is so high, Its better to invest in a design which can be made independently in India with Indian material and brain ..

abhi_the _gr8_maratha

As of now, A single M777 cost 30 crores a piece without talking the spare and ammunition also the tow vehicle ..

Dhanush on other hand cost just 14 crores a piece, The point is the cost escalation is so high, Its better to invest in a design which can be made independently in India with Indian material and brain ..
there is one by kalyani coming next year

==============Keep things till thread topic ..==================

laughingbuddha

Cost diff is not the issue. Purpose is.

How light is the kalyani gun going to be viz the M777? And how many years it is expected to take from the drawing board to the factory floor? Even the Singaporean gun was a few tons heavier than the M777. Too heavy to airlift comfortably.

As there is no immediate option, the govt should buy the M777.
The Kalyani gun is stlll on paper and we don't want to start manufacturing the kalyani gun after we've lost the Himalayas and the NE do we?

laughingbuddha

PS: The new Chinese maps depicting India. (Its been on TV all day).

Looks like we're gonna be needing them guns sooner than later.

The solution does not lies in one directions but all in such critical situation >>

1. Push for Kalyani ULH ..
2. Push M777 deal for License production ..
3. Upgrade existing 105mm guns with Electronic FCS and longer barrel ..

EXPERT

Cost diff is not the issue. Purpose is.

How light is the kalyani gun going to be viz the M777? And how many years it is expected to take from the drawing board to the factory floor? Even the Singaporean gun was a few tons heavier than the M777. Too heavy to airlift comfortably.

As there is no immediate option, the govt should buy the M777.
The Kalyani gun is stlll on paper and we don't want to start manufacturing the kalyani gun after we've lost the Himalayas and the NE do we?
Kalyani and only kalyani has the capability to reduce the wait, don't compare it with other PSU. It will equal in all aspects with the best in the world.

It just damn good in every area where ever it steps.
I believe it will do it for our nation,our army and for us.

Kalyani and only kalyani has the capability to reduce the wait, don't compare it with other PSU. It will equal in all aspects with the best in the world.

It just damn good in every area where ever it steps.
I believe it will do it for our nation,our army and for us.
Kindly elabrorate your views....
How and under what scenario are they dammm good....????

LastProphet

Pulkit bro...kalyani grp is a big name in case of special steel production in india...dis grp has proved time n again th8 dey can accomplish wt oder big names here in india cudnt...fr sure dey will com wid sumthng gud coz Baba kalyani n sons don wanna waste the hard earned money on a failed project...prob wid gov sec is job is too secure whether u perform or not...whch wont b a case for ppl in kalyani grp...!!!!

LastProphet

Pulkit bro...kalyani grp is a big name in case of special steel production in india...dis grp has proved time n again th8 dey can accomplish wt oder big names here in india cudnt...fr sure dey will com wid sumthng gud coz Baba kalyani n sons don wanna waste the hard earned money on a failed project...prob wid gov sec is job is too secure whether u perform or not...whch wont b a case for ppl in kalyani grp...!!!!

Sir the tech and material we are looking for is too complex ... and this will be our first attempt to attain it ... Once the product is out we wil know but these then one thing can be only expected is that the finished product is good...
but what were u try to say was a claim or a fact which had no support...

Private public what you said is true but even major projects of private firms can also fail..... Hope this time is prooves and is successful...

Note:please remove the duplicate quote...