Indian Army Artillery

Kunal,
It was a herculean task to tow the 155/39 Howitzers up and down the Zozila Pass during Kargil. It is only unyielding spirit of Indian Army that made it possible to negotiate those serpentine bends and execute booms on top.

Not correct arguments. The simplest thing is that if a gun has to support armour operation or mechanised operations, it is better that the gun system is self propelled and self protected. OK.
If the terrain is easy and has good road network, it is better that the guns supporting other than mechanised operation is Motorised as towed system imposes some delays.
Simple tamplet.

But our country is neither NATO nor western Europe.
Thirdly, 52 calibre is a bit longer and one would not be able to deploy 52 calibre length everywhere in mountains, even if it is a howitzer. It occupies larger deployment space. M777 is another ball game due to their portability.
Let me see one deploying a Motorised 155 /52 on Jawahar Lal Nehru National Highway on the way to Nathu La from Gangtok.
Evberything Western is not hunky dory.
They are correct, TATRA 8x8 are operational at Jammu can be be used beyond if infrastructure improves, But one is not using a T-90S at Jammu but T-55, In same manner one cannot deploy ARZU SPGH there but Ceaser or Zuzuana, The logic is simple here..

Lighter System are easy to operate at eastern and Northern sectors where as heavy systems in western sector, Besides M46 are longer than FH-77 and towed over mountain tops..

TATRA 8x8 are operational at Jammu

Jammu is plains and super plains. Tatra 8X8 can be taken to Kargil. Is that the point at issue. But I have my doubts if Tatra 8X8 can be taken 155/52 mounted to Kargil?

How do you know they will not use T-90 at Jammu? Terrain across jammu is much better than terrain across Amritsar or say across Ferozpur? It would depend on host of other factors...

T-55, T-72 or T-90 effects the obstacles and crossing systems and not the machines per say !!

Ok fine, let it be at that ! the arguments are not for the heck of it. I think they at IA know their job quite well.

TATRA 8x8 are operational at Jammu

Jammu is plains and super plains.

Ok fine, let it be at that ! the arguments are not for the heck of it. I think they at IA know their job quite well.
Not so, The valleys in Doda region are not so but BMPs goes there..

Anyways..

Excalibur for limiting collateral damage and giving unprecedented precision capability

New Delhi. The Indian Army has finally initiated its long desired plans to modernise its artillery with the recent announcement of 145 M777 Howitzers, after a lull of twenty six years.

The primary application of these Howitzers will be mountainous, remote and environmentally hostile terrain and will be critical to incorporate munitions that provide an extended range and precision capability.

Raytheon has offered the Excalibur 155mm Precision Guided Extended Range Artillery Projectile for this gun. Also known as the M982 ER DPICM (Extended Range Dual Purpose Improved Conventional Munitions) Projectile, is a fire and forget, smart munition. It is intended to provide the Army with a capability to attack all three key target sets, soft and armored vehicles, and reinforced bunkers, out to ranges exceeding current 155mm family of artillery munitions.

Experts have to look closely at how to get Excalibur qualified on its own inventory of 155mm Howitzers and the other guns. Leaveraging Excalibur on existing guns would strengthen the artillery modernization programme and deliver a game changing capability without the process and expense associated with procuring a complex platform.

"Commanders are able to engage targets with the Excalibur unitary in urban operations, making the most of the round's accuracy to limit collateral damage to the immediate target area. For example, it would be the optimum munitions when the enemy uses 'hugging tactics,' that is when they might operate on the periphery of schools, hospitals, religious infrastructure or congregations of innocent civilians," explained Bradley Bradford, Raytheon's Regional Manager, Detroit Field Office.

Excalibur's accuracy and fuzing options would allow commanders to engage targets protected by terrain variations. The self-guiding projectile would travel nearly vertically (highangle) as it leaves the firing platform and then alter its fl ight path (left/ right, up/down) to reach the target location. The international users of Excalibur include UK, Canada, Australia and Sweden. .......
"It is incredible to think about how this capability has evolved with its use over time, and these shots are evidence of that," said Lt. Col. Mike Milner, U.S. Army Excalibur product manager. "We are continually improving Excalibur's use in theater."

"Having true precision artillery that can defeat the targets - and from such a great distance - gives our warfighters the ability to engage these targets that would otherwise be out of reach," said Michelle Lohmeier, vice president of Land Combat Systems at Raytheon Missile Systems. "Raytheon developed and fielded the world's first extended-range GPS-guided artillery, and we are proud of the unprecedented precision capability Excalibur gives our warfighters."

Raytheon has fired four Excalibur 155mm precision-guided artillery projectiles from the Denelmanufactured G6 self-propelled howitzer as part of a field trial demonstration.

Multiple rounds of the combatproven Excalibur successfully fired from the G6 155mm wheeled howitzer out to a range of 38 kilometers (23.6 statute miles), with all rounds landing within 5 meters (16.4 feet) of the target.

"These trials demonstrated Excalibur can give a true precision capability to G6 howitzers that can enhance the warfighter's defensive posture and is essential to closecombat operations," said Kevin Matthies, Excalibur program director for Raytheon Missile Systems.

Excalibur is a family of precisionguided, extended-range modular projectiles incorporating three unique payload capabilities divided into Block configurations. As designed, Block I consists of high-explosive, fragmenting, or ting unitary munitions to enhance traditional fire support operations with increased range, improved accuracy, and reduced collateral damage against personnel, light materiel, and structure targets. Block II consists of smart munitions to search, detect, acquire, and engage fleeting and short-dwell targets common to open-terrain battlefields. Block III consists of discriminating munitions to selectively identify and engage individual vehicular targets in urban environments by distinguishing specific target characteristics.

Are you aware of the cost of each round ??
i would go with Kunal sir,

but do you know who cant spend these huge money, they dont Army et al,

Soviet Artillery Round [M-46] ~ 50,000Rs
Bofors- ~80,000Rs
Recently Tested or Inducted Israeli Arty with GPS guidence Round ~2 lac..

a single Arty Bofors fire 3000 rounds in one night, in Kargil.. so you fix what budget and funds need to maintain such huge Army..

these figures are from before 2010...

Wars are matters of men at fronts than etc..
yes Kunal, it takes money to field men on front and if your men are less you have mercenaries with money and even that is less than better do not fight a war

military affairs have huge monitory effects !

yes Kunal, it takes money to field men on front and if your men are less you have mercenaries with money and even that is less than better do not fight a war
Bhadra Ji,

Not in Indian Army, This is not foreign army goes on strike, Its army life which keep men on front and love for there owns, Money is never a concern in Army but how you live your life and do your Job, In War one does his job with full efficiency and in peace same applies without complication unlike in Civil

About Mercenaries ? you should read about them many books are there and biography of famous once and see what are the difference, Where and what places and at what wages IA work and how are the same applies to mercenaries at what charges ?

A Indian Army Solider fights and dont pull out keeping his Country, regiment objective and friends lives unlike Mercenaries thinks about only Money, Give a think before comparing IA men with cheap Mercenaries..

Bhadra Ji,

Not in Indian Army, This is not foreign army goes on strike, Its army life which keep men on front and love for there owns, Money is never a concern in Army but how you live your life and do your Job, In War one does his job with full efficiency and in peace same applies without complication unlike in Civil

About Mercenaries ? you should read about them many books are there and biography of famous once and see what are the difference, Where and what places and at what wages IA work and how are the same applies to mercenaries at what charges ?

A Indian Army Solider fights and dont pull out keeping his Country, regiment objective and friends lives unlike Mercenaries thinks about only Money, Give a think before comparing IA men with cheap Mercenaries..
i think mercenaries cost more, some US soldiers quit army and joined blackwater in Afghan,, for sake of money & huge money, they go on a mission kill everyone they sees in middle and create havoc, they dont take any responsibility of whom they killed.. so it became very contreversal..

they dont have any mercy for lives of people or country...

we should get some of the ATK precision guided kits.
its good to fire 1 ATK instead of 10 normal rounds.. i think we have Israeli kits..

2lac X 3000 rounds per night per a Arty gun,,, :rofl:

if a normal middle class man sees this kind of budget, he will Heart Attack.. :shocked:

its good to fire 1 ATK instead of 10 normal rounds.. i think we have Israeli kits..

2lac X 3000 rounds per night per a Arty gun,,, :rofl:

if a normal middle class man sees this kind of budget, he will Heart Attack.. :shocked:
for a second forget about cost of war and think about those 3000 shells going to enemy and our soldiers in the cover fire getting up the peaks.

In Kargil, If IA gunners had these precision guided shells, Small recon party could have destroyed selected bunkers in both day and Night, We could have saved so many life there, Just sad..