Pakistan to lease Gilgit-Baltistan to China & possible Indian response

Re: Will India react militarily if Pak cedes Gilgit Baltistan to China

Can there be trade-off between India and Pakistan. Kashmir valley for a passage to CAR? Is that something both governments would be looking into?
Are you kidding me? They won't let an inch

A direct answer to the question: Will India react militarily if Pak cedes Gilgit Baltistan to China?
India will not act militarily in such a situation. J&K is disputed as has been stated even by UN resolution thanks to the stupidity of Chacha Rangila. Even the border settlement which Pak had with China about Shaksgam Valley has a clause that it is to be revisited depending upon final resolution of dispute between India and Pakistan. Such a clause will be put in any such agreement between china and Pakistan. The problem will get compounded if Pakistan ceases to exist. or India takes over Gilgit and Baltistan militarily. In such a situation, it will not be called settlement of dispute and area ceaded to China will stay with china without triggering the clause about reopening of agreement. However If India is able to take back part of J&K now called POK thru a proper agreement which can be either thru peaceful means or as part of war settlement, There are very good chances that India will be able to take back even shaksgam valley from China.

cloud

Not in next 15-20 years or may be always, because we don't have the real balls. Its the cycle of poor and fools keeps electing the Chors/Gundas in return they keep fooling them back. Even if we launch a full force modernization(like in WAR TIMES) of our armed forces today, they will still not match the China/Pak strength combined in next 10-15 years, that is what need minimum to start a war on India's term/initiative. Now imagine how we will ever gain any advantage with our politicians, especially when Congo comes with doctorate degree in divide and rule policy and making the banana monkey out of even educated citizens. The only war India will go is when their is really no choice and our politician see their seats loosing in next a few elections. or else If are allowed/possible to be PM of the rest of India after giving half/quarter to enemies, they will gladly accept those offers.

There are two ways to look at J&K problem. One is that J&K became part of India as per the rules set by British for Partition of India and also accepted by Jinnah & Chacha Rangila. If we follow this line of thinking than there is no reason for us to talk to Pakistan about Kashmir and we must get back our land from them militarily.
The other way is to follow the UN resolution, in which we had accepted plebcite provided Pakistan first withdraws from POK. this option has been discounted by GOI as it claims that Shimla agreement replaces the UN resolution.
So we are in a catch-22 situation. All our options give us only one verdict, Military solution.

Dark Sorrow

It's time for India to start drone strikes inside PoK and GB. Seriously.
For that we need to have drones capable of firing weapons and at the same time we need appropriate weapons to be arm drones.
Most of all we need guts to do so.

There are two ways to look at J&K problem. One is that J&K became part of India as per the rules set by British for Partition of India and also accepted by Jinnah & Chacha Rangila. If we follow this line of thinking than there is no reason for us to talk to Pakistan about Kashmir and we must get back our land from them militarily.
The other way is to follow the UN resolution, in which we had accepted plebcite provided Pakistan first withdraws from POK. this option has been discounted by GOI as it claims that Shimla agreement replaces the UN resolution.
So we are in a catch-22 situation. All our options give us only one verdict, Military solution.
UN resolution has long since ceased to be valid. Its not possible ever. Pak changed demographics and militarized the entire area as well. First step was for Pak to withdraw which they didn't. No point getting UN.

And what the eff is UN when it comes to national security, interests and more importantly territorial integrity of India.

Strange thread... India wont do anything even if Pakis happily became Chinese territory.

Pak is already a colony of China.

aerokan

Nehru promised a plebiscite to the UN. Not the Indian govt. It has neither been discussed nor ratified by the Cabinet. And the accession of J&K to India is full and final and non-reversible as per the Instrument of Accession. So there is no second way about it. India has to take military action against PAK to reclaim the territories. End of story :namaste:

As I stated, kuttay kay muhn say haddi nahin cheeni jaati, uska muhn todna padta hai. To get the bone out of a dog's mouth, you have to break his mouth. I had clearly written that only solution to Kashmir issue is Military option.

TrueSpirit

As I stated, kuttay kay muhn say haddi nahin cheeni jaati, uska muhn todna padta hai. To get the bone out of a dog's mouth, you have to break his mouth. I had clearly written that only solution to Kashmir issue is Military option.
Sir, I need to understand your views on this : Is our conventional superiority with respect to Pak as decisive as needed ?

What happens if India launches an assault to claim PoK/Giligit-Baltistan area? Is India ready to handle the escalation & win the war that would be fought under a nuclear overhang & possible Chinese intervention ?

Finally, can we effectively control that territory & handle the aftermath (regional & international scene) ? And, whether this whole effort would be worthwhile ?

datguy79

Folow up question: Why restrict war with Pak to G&B when you can attack Pakistan proper and stretch out the Pak army?

Pak has always maintained that J&K is disputed and they justified Kargil based on this assumption. What is holding us back from playing the same card and start military ops in J&K using Pak ploy?
We have a saying in Haryana," Thaaday kee joroo sabki chachi, madhay kee joroo sabki Bhabhi". It means that might rules the world. Today we are far more bigger in terms of wealth than Pak and the world needs us against China. So we must use this to get even with Pak.

India has not reacted military when China has trespassed on Indian territory why would
India do anything about disputed/Pakistani territory

We need strong leadership at centre and not idiots like UPA. So what if Pak has Nukes. They know that we too have them. But they have used them more effectively till now compared to idiots of raisina Hills in Delhi. We need someone who comes to power in Delhi and tells Pakistan so what if you have nukes, get out of POK or we will throw you out. And you will see the change in the way Pakistan behaves.

After 4 wars 3 where POK was taken back and much more why is there still an issue
of POK?? A friend once told me the Kashmir problem is 95% indian government's creation
and 5% Pakistani. I did not believe this at first but over the years i believe it more and more.
Indian governement intentionally wants the Kashmir problem to be a focal point. There has never
been an attempt by an government to get rid of article 370 so i would say this could be very true.

TrueSpirit

Pak has always maintained that J&K is disputed and they justified Kargil based on this assumption. What is holding us back from playing the same card and start military ops in J&K using Pak ploy?
We have a saying in Haryana," Thaaday kee joroo sabki chachi, madhay kee joroo sabki Bhabhi". It means that might rules the world. Today we are far more bigger in terms of wealth than Pak and the world needs us against China. So we must use this to get even with Pak.
@Decklander : Sir, from your reply, I understand that it is imperative upon India to call their nuke bluff & take the war inside PoK/G&B. My queries are:

Is our conventional superiority over Pak overwhelming enough to result in a "decisive outcome" ? Something like that would be unprecedented.
Second, is India militarily ready to handle the escalation & win the war that would be fought under a nuclear overhang & possible Chinese intervention ?
Finally, can we effectively control the occupied territory & handle the aftermath (regional & international scene) ?

@Decklander : Sir, from your reply, I understand that it is imperative upon India to call their nuke bluff & take the war inside PoK/G&B. My queries are:

Is our conventional superiority over Pak overwhelming enough to result in a "decisive outcome" ? Something like that would be unprecedented.
Second, is India militarily ready to handle the escalation & win the war that would be fought under a nuclear overhang & possible Chinese intervention ?
Finally, can we effectively control the occupied territory & handle the aftermath (regional & international scene) ?
One question that may arise internationally is why did india give back the territory in previous wars and go to war now
To reclaim it?

You are right, but frankly mate, India is flush with cash. Don't you see how much money we squandered away in the Commonwealth Games, where a big chunk of the money was appropriated as common wealth of the big honchos?

We can easily afford to lose two UAVs every month, if we can maintain Siachen at Rs. 5 crores per day.
We can easily go in for suicide drones in that case.

Several Reasons

1. Pakistanis are the main jihadis in Kashmir, we can't have Indian terrorists/"freedom fighters". Far too bright an economic future. BTW did you read an article on LeT recruitment, the best and brightest with massive "sifarish" are only admitted
2. GB has witnessed massive demographic change via Pashtun migration and Shia and Islamaili genocide
3. Population of GB is much much lesser in terms of actual numbers and density
4. Mirpur side of PoK is a hotbed of extremism, terrorism and idiocy.

We can easily go in for suicide drones in that case.
Yes, indeed; as a matter of fact, we can devise cheap drones that will be used only once, and will be RC guided, and can be fitted with a camera so that pilots on the ground can see the area, and once we are at the top of the target, dive down the drone and explode.