India will grow in strategic importance: US

Posted on Nov 02, 2011

Washington: Describing India-US ties as a priority for Washington, the Pentagon expects India's importance to US interests to grow as India increasingly assumes leadership roles as a major regional and emerging global power.

"The United States and India are natural partners, destined to be closer because of shared interests and values and our mutual desire for a stable and secure world," the Defence Department said in a report to the US Congress on US-India Security Cooperation.

"A strong bilateral partnership is in US interests and benefits both countries," said the report prepared in response to a request from the powerful Senate Armed Services Committee on a five-year action plan to strengthen bilateral defence relations.

"We expect India's importance to US interests to grow in the long run as India, a major regional and emerging global power, increasingly assumes roles commensurate with its position as a stakeholder and a leader in the international system," it said.

Over the next five years, the US will continue to build the support structures necessary to ensure the maturation of a robust and mutually beneficial defence relationship with India in the Asia-Pacific and globally, the report said.

The US defence department, it said, "will advance the defence relationship by deepening people-to-people ties through continued military-to-military engagements, implementing agreed upon cooperation and pursuing new avenues of collaboration with particular emphasis on maritime security and counterterrorism activities, and expanding defence trade and armaments cooperation.

On the counterterrorism front, the United States continues to focus on Al Qaeda and other terrorist threats that emanate from South Asia, it said noting for some of these groups, particularly Pakistan-based Lashkar-e-Taeba (LeT), blamed for the 2008 Mumbai terror attacks, India remains the primary target.

As "LeT's activities continue to threaten US interests and South Asian regional stability," the US "will continue to follow the guidance of our National Strategy for Counterterrorism which calls for joining with key partners, like India, to share the burdens of our common security goals."

"In doing so, we will seek to expand counterterrorism cooperation with India, and our current special operations engagements in the region will continue to focus on the mutually beneficial ways in which we can enhance each other's capabilities.

"In both instances, the Defence Department will work with the State Department and other interagency colleagues as appropriate to work with India in the emerging Asian regional security architecture and other multilateral forums, such as the ASEAN Defence Ministers' Meeting-Plus," it said.

Asserting that deepening maritime security cooperation with India holds great potential over the next five years across a range of issues, the report said: "The United States appreciates India's continued contribution to the counter-piracy mission in the western Indian Ocean and will support India's leadership role in regional counter-piracy efforts."

The US Navy would like to work with the Indian Navy to improve capabilities to perform higher-end, operational missions in the Indian Ocean region as the strategic context dictates, it said.

India will grow in strategic importance: US - World News - IBNLive

"The United States and India are natural partners, destined to be closer because of shared interests and values and our mutual desire for a stable and secure world," the Defence Department said in a report to the US Congress on US-India Security Cooperation.
Funny they did not feel that way for 60 fkn years!

Diplomacy is very complicated thing. Even today, U.S. is more friendly to Pakistan. Don't know till when. They just want to maintain mild positive relation with us and nothing more......

India or to be precise GOI is playing a dirty game with all this "Amreeki Hindi Bhai Bhai" charade.....I hope not - due to vested short term political, monetary and corporate interests we become a failed state like pakistan! Remember even pakistan 30yrs or so back was the second fastest growing economy, only behind Japan at that time ......Now look what has become of pakistan due to over-dependence on the US...Kindly take cue from history and learn - wait a sec con-gress led GOI will never learn. But...........who is listening? :)

Diplomacy is very complicated thing. Even today, U.S. is more friendly to Pakistan. Don't know till when. They just want to maintain mild positive relation with us and nothing more......
No.

They would love nothing better than us becoming there puppets.

Adux

ain't going to happen. just develop our own technologies instead of wasting money on foriegn weapons.
Let's call up Pakistan and China, tell them to wait till we are ready.

i think Indians should grow some balls, this whine fest is getting to be annoying
It's not balls they need from what I see here; it's self-esteem, in my opinion.

Too much megalomaniacal posturing here, IMHO, & too many images of eliminating whole populations and races. If some of these guys get their finger on a launch button, we're in trouble.

And I should have learned by now not to even respond to threads like this (he says, donning his Nomex coveralls).:)

Too much megalomaniacal posturing here, IMHO, & too many images of eliminating whole populations and races. If some of these guys get their finger on a launch button, we're in trouble.

And I should have learned by now not to even respond to threads like this (he says, donning his Nomex coveralls).:)
I definitely agree. I've faced such emotional posts earlier too, that propose to take steps too far. I, myself, am not immune to these impulses.

I usually am not in favour of wiping out entire races but I am not sure about those races who aim to wipe out my race. In India's case, it is not really race, rather in an obfuscated and misunderstood way, it is religion, when actually it is not and I am sure my sentence structuring has left most in a dizzy.

To keep it simple, it is India vs Pakistan. They want to wipe us out and so we should be justified to wipe them out to ensure our survival. We are both the same race and it is neither a religious issue since we Indians do not propose to wipe out all the Muslims all across the world.

Adux

No.

They would love nothing better than us becoming there puppets.
But that is not their choice is it?
It is ours. We decide if we are to be puppets or not, If we are to be a global power, then we wont be. We have real threats on our borders, it is impossible for anybody to convince us as to be their puppets.

No, they don't. Strategic interests however evolve. Pardon my skepticism, your country's track record is dirty.
At the risk of repeating myself, people from all over this planet daily make tracks to this country with its dirty track record.

If human beings are imperfect, how much more or less perfect can countries be?

My government's primary role is to protect its citizens. If it hurts the feelings of other countries to do that, so be it. Mutual respect among nations is utopian.

At the risk of repeating myself, people from all over this planet daily make tracks to this country with its dirty track record.

If human beings are imperfect, how much more or less perfect can countries be?

My government's primary role is to protect its citizens. If it hurts the feelings of other countries to do that, so be it. Mutual respect among nations is utopian.
I wasnt expecting you to justify your nations actions. I was trying to justify my stance and hoping my country's leaders take a similar stance.

And btw, nothing you say will justify nuking someone - twice - in three days!!!

Adux

India has been sanctioned and bullied by the US. But we forget is that we have done the same to our smaller neighbor's.
Now that we have grown stronger, we will do that to our bigger neighbors. There will be a time we will bully the US too. It is just the way, the world of man works.

Indians believe they are holier than thou, just like Americans, but the real truth is that, they are not. Ask the Sri Lankans or Pakistani's.

India has been harrassed by the US, but are they capable of doing that feat again? Will it matter? Who has the leverage in the Indo-US relationship. We are getting technology that has atleast 20 years of R&D into it, our threats are real and we need the best to protect ourselves from Pakchin. It is clear and present danger, they wont wait for India to be self-sufficient.

We will have to strike a balance, and in my un-informed opinion India wont get self-sufficient till around 20 years from now, Pakchin plans to cut down India much before that, so what should the country and armed forces do? Wait for DRDO etc for another 20-30 years, and risk loosing a war? Or swallow up some pride, be a realist and get the best deals possible according to our wishes. Make sure US is more accommodating to our views, than their megalomaniac views.

Adux

Trackwhack,

I am all about nuking a nation like Pakistan or China if push comes to shove. If we are not ready and dont have the gall to do it, might as well fold and give Kashmir to Pakistan and whatever there is left to China.

You are alluding to August, 1945, I presume? That should be a separate thread.